Rewrite Requests: The Foot that Holds the Door Open

So how was your Easter weekend? Go to any church services? Cross your arms and refuse to go? Did some weird ritual that involved chocolate bunnies and eggs?

My Easter was pretty much standard as holidays go. Go to church, go to relatives, eat a big supper, take a nap while the boy runs amuck, trusting that the other relatives will watch him for once. We came home, I checked my email, and saw that one came in from a market I sent a short story to.

Now, for the past couple of months, I’ve grown used to emails like, “Thank you for sending such and such…didn’t work for us…blah, blah, blah…too weird…etc. and so forth…” But when I opened up this email, I got something very, very different.

“We really like this story. We like the voice. However it meanders in places, diluting the focus of the story. Would it be possible for you to do a rewrite?”

Whoa…a rewrite request! I’ve heard of these!

Actually, I’m more excited that I can possibly convey in this blog. Rewrite requests are special. It’s not exactly a guarantee that this certain market will publish my story if I rewrite, but it does mean that someone really, really liked it enough to comment on it, and even offer a few tips that will help push the story over the top.

What’s really made me happy is that a few days before, on a whim, I had pulled up the story and reread it, thinking, “Ooh…you know, maybe I should rewrite this, tighten it up a bit.” It’s awesome that this market is allowing me to do that.

So that’s what I’m doing this week–if you haven’t heard from me much, that’s why. I’ve been editing and cutting and polishing my little heart out; in fact, I haven’t done much work on my other stories or Willow. I want to get this story perfect. When I do, then we will go back to our regularly scheduled blogging and writing.

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 51 other followers