First Draft of Weeping of the Willows: DONE

It is done. Finished. Kaput. At least, for book one, that is.

I have finally finished my first book, ever. Clocking in at 462257 words. Zounds. That’s a lot of writing.

I had to look in my files to find the earliest dated draft of this book. February 9, 1994 was when I started writing this book seriously, just to see how much I could put down. I worked on it until…I think 1997, then stopped writing period for seven years. I started working on it again in late 2004, so let’s see, that meant I spent roughly six years working on this baby, eliminating the non-writing years.

Wow. No wonder I feel so tired. If you excuse me, I’m going to go to bed. Very, very early.

8 Responses

  1. And for the record, the boy took a bath last night. I won’t say anything about that fiasco, other than to say it was worthy of its own blog.

  2. Well, I wasn’t really planning to mention it…seeing that it did involve bathwater and organic stuff that belong more in a toilet bowl than bathwater…

  3. !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

  4. Chris, is that from me finishing my novel, or learning that my kid has decided to make bathtub soup with his own ‘potatos’?

  5. oh, good grief. iewww

  6. Congrats on completing the first draft! Now the REAL work of a writer begins… the dreaded rewriting!
    Changing the subject to baths… it sounds like you have the making of a good horror film.

  7. woo hoo! Now we will do the dance of joy….

  8. [...] I had no clue what I was doing, threw all those chapters out, and started rewriting from scratch. I finished the first draft in July 2007 and saw that I had enough for two books. So I broke them in half, and I’ve been in rewrites [...]

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 52 other followers

