Whoa…confirmation received….

It’s not about sending empty words into the air.

Yesterday was an interesting time. I’d finished my second story CrownTree and had sent it off to Realms of Fantasy in July. Today, the story came back in the mail with your standard rejection form letter. Yes, I understand this is normal and, in fact, is a mark of a writer, but still. Ouch! They rejected my baby!

This happened at the same time I had to go through and re-submit some other projects. One was an essay I’ve reworked into a devotional and sent out to a few places who couldn’t take it or just didn’t respond. Later, I got an email back from the editor. I opened it, thinking, two rejections in one day? That blows…Instead, the editor loved it and wanted to use it. Could I send a bio? It can include an email and web address.

<blink…blink> SURE!

At that point, the finger of God that’s been tapping me on top of my head for about several months bore down hard. “You know…this will be a good time to get a blog rolling…

“Hmm. You think?”

Positive.

And so the Cafe was created.

This morning, I actually woke up early to check on it (okay, 7:45am may not be early for you, but it is for me, so don’t knock it). Got an email from the editor who accepted my devotional, “By the way, I love your blog. I’m a fan already.”

So it’s not just sending empty words into the air. I get it, Lord. I get it.

4 Responses

  1. Yay LaShawn. Very cool. And I like the little word meter for your writing project.

  2. “By the way, I love your blog. I’m a fan already.”

    nice….

  3. Thanks!
    Yeah, Diana, I really like the word meter. I need to get it adjusted though. No way I’m 50%. More like 25%.

    And Dave, thanks for stopping by! You’re my first WordPress blogger to notice little me. If I thought about it, I would have a prize for you, but seeing that I’m a stay at home mom, I have very little to offer other than a hearty “You also have a nice blog too!”

  4. I love it! I have your site bookmarked, and not just to get my grandson’s latest word, either! You surprise and delight me at every turn. Thanks for more insights into YOU. You always give me something to chuckle about, or to think on. Keep it up, I’m rooting for you.

    Mom Dottie

Leave a Reply

