More Debut Novels Word Counts

Neverwhere by Neil Gaiman: 96,626 Not as much as I thought it would be.

Prince of Dogs by Kate Elliott: 202,450 I know–not a debut novel; in fact the second book in her Crown of Stars series. But Amazon only had the stats for this one.

Wolfskin by Juliet Marillier: 214,238 I didn’t read this one.

Murder of Angels by Caitlin Kiernan: 114,847 Another book I didn’t read.

And Robert Jordan, the king of epics? I couldn’t find a word count for the first book in the Wheel of Time, but The Eye of the World does have 814 pages. Which puts its word count around the same as Tad’s: around 1,400,000 words long (but come on, this is Robert Jordan after all…compared to his later books in his series, his first book was a novella…)

So what did I learn from this frankly unscientific sample? I should stop worrying about the word count of my book and just write the $@*! thing.

2 Responses

  1. Just wanted to pay you a visit after reading your article at Comfort Cafe, and say thanks. Also would like to extend an invitation for you to visit my writerly blog. Light for the Writer’s Soul: http://victoriagaines.com

    Always a pleasure to meet another writer.

    Blessings,
    Vicki

  2. Thank you very much! I’ve bookmarked your site. Looks very good!

Leave a Reply

