Snow Day? No Way! Give me a *Warm* Day!

Exactly four weeks ago, I had just settled down after fighting to get Daniel to daycare. It wasn’t because of his usual reticence that takes place upon me waking him up to when we actually get out the door; it was the fact that the air was laced with tiny particles of snow almost too small to see until they hit the ground and started piling up. Snow showers like that usually shut everything down, but my hubby had called work and they said, “Nope, come on in.” So, the trooper that he was, he went off to work, and I decided that I couldn’t call a Snow Day either, not since I already work at home. So it was “Bye-bye Daniel”, chugging back through the snow, and settling down for a morning of writing.

Suddenly, I heard the garage door open. I peeked out the window to see the image of my husband’s car, white-laden with snow, trundle in. A minute later, he showed up in our bedroom. “School’s canceled. Looks like I get a snow day.”

Awwww…man…

Being a stay at home mother and writer has its plusses, but that day showed me a big fat disadvantage. There’s no such thing as a “Snow Day” for me. I can’t call into work and hear, “Oh, the weather’s awful today. Why don’t you stay home?” Nope. Snow days are rendered useless for a stay-at-home mother. In fact, snow days become even more troublesome, because now you’re trying to work with the kids running about the house (I assume, at least. Seeing that I only have one son that’s not even in preschool yet, I’m letting my imagination jump ahead of itself), running out in the snow, yelling for cocoa, leaving wet boots and coats everywhere, and poor Mama is grinding her teeth because for the kids (and Daddy), a Snow Day is akin to a “Get out of Jail Free Card”. No work, no worries. Just play, play, play. Whoopee!

So that night, I grumbled to my hubby, “Man, when is my Snow Day?” At which point, my hubby gave me a look and said, “I was home! You could’ve gone to Panera’s and written all day. Why didn’t you?” I scuffed my feet and whined, “Drive in all that snow? Are you crazy?” And he gave me a look that said, I spent two hours driving in the wee hours of the morning to school only to learn there that they canceled it and I had to drive two hours back. Don’t talk to me about driving. Wait. He actually said that. Oh yeah.

I’m bringing up all my grumbling about snow days because today, exactly a month later, I woke up and the weather had been forecasted to be 73 degrees.

You gotta love Chicago. Snowstorms one week, springtime the next.

I walked Daniel to daycare and tried to settle to do some writing, but I couldn’t concentrate. The smell of wet earth was in the air, not the cold, clammy smell, but a good smell, a warm, balmy, gentle breeze smell that ached to waft into our house. I threw open the windows and the doors and the spring breeze swept in, getting rid of the winter doldrums and sweeping my mind clean of the two rejections from magazines I received yesterday. Looking out, I thought, “Nuts to this. I’m going outside!”

Kids and working folks can have snow days. It’s an unexpected time of relaxation and fun. But for stay at home workers, we need to instill a “Warm” day into our work ethic. Because when springtime rears its head, ain’t nothing you can do to ignore it’s call. Except maybe work in a building that have no windows.

Leave a Reply

