1st Day at MWW Part 2

Mmmm…yummy food…

It’s strange to hear so many people speaking of your trade that you normally deal with by yourself. Overheard:

“Is this supposed to be a picture book for children? The pictures look too–strange–”

“You need to show, not tell.”

“I think I need to rip out the prologue altogether because it’s not going anywhere.”

“I told my agent that it had to be one of the larger publishing houses. I haven’t heard anything since. Agents are no good scums. I’ve been waiting three months and nothing!”

“Do you think I need to cut down on the background stuff?” “Well, it goes on for about five pages. I think so.”

So far, I met today:

A nice elderly lady who interviewed Jimmy Hendrix and the Beatles, and who can write in shorthand.
A screenwriter who has submitted a draft to the Sundance Festival.
Jane Friedman, editor of Writer’s Digest
A woman who has traveled here from Australia.

More tomorrow.

Leave a Reply

