Odds, Ends…and another blow to the fantasy community (RIP Robert Jordan)

It’s been quiet at the Cafe. Real quiet. It’s not that anything’s happening. On the contrary…there’s a lot.

I’ve been spending most of my time working on an article that I want to get out by the end of this week. It’s taken up quite a bit of time, but it’s something I’ve been wanting to do for years (and if it gets accepted, I’d be most pleased.)

Just a heads up for everyone, I got another story coming out in October! Kaleidotrope is going to print “Click” in the 3rd volume, which will make this the first story I’ve ever had in a print magazine. What’s even neater, according to the Table of Contents, it looks like “Click” is the first story. I am stoked, to say the least. Go check it Kaleidotrope! More details coming soon on that.

And finally, it looks like another fantasy writer has passed away. Robert Jordan died yesterday due to complications from primary amyloidosis with cardiomyopathy. Normally, I’d just wait until the official news announces it, but the news comes from Jordan’s official website, Dragonmount.com, as well as Slashdot.

I stopped reading his Wheel of Time series around the fifth book, but I still consider Jordan among the few fantasy authors who deeply influenced me as a writer. It is truly sad, considering that he was working on the very last book in the series. With Madeline L’Engle’s death only a week past, it is truly shaping up to be a sad month for the fantasy community.

Rest in Peace, Robert Jordan. I’m tugging my dreadlocks in remembrance of you.

One Response

  1. And he was so young too!

    Did you tell everyone about your article? That’s terrific news!! Woo HOO!

Leave a Reply

