Ch-ch-ch-changes…of a Different Sort Altogether

So, as you read in my post on the Writer’s Block, it looks like we’re moving.

Quite a big change, huh?

I’ve been debating how much to put on the Cafe. This has been in the works for some time, which is why you haven’t seen me much here. On the flip side, things are still in flux, and I don’t know how much exactly I should divulge. Hmmm….

Let’s just say that the next couple of months are going to be extremely busy for me. There. That’s fair warning enough.

I’m not going to rehash the fears I wrote in the Writer’s Block post. I can say honestly that I can lay down the fear that I had about not writing. I still am. Granted, I don’t have huge blocks of time that I can spend on it, but I can spend a few minutes here and there to hash out a few things. Kind of like what I’m doing now. I’m taking a break from cleaning to work on this blog.

I’ve learned something interesting over the past few weeks: lack of time helps me to focus better on my stories.

I have to edit my stories bit by bit now, instead of in one large chunk of time. But that’s good. Instead of wrestling over a long passage and wasting my time staring out into space while I think, I can work on the passage in my head while I’m scrubbing the walls or the floor. I keep the story open on my laptop, so if a particularly good idea comes, I can take a break and work on the story a few sentences at a time. Time begins to work in my favor again. I no longer feel that things are rushing at me pell-mell. Well, okay, I do feel that–but at least I don’t feel that way when it comes to writing.

Looks like my break is over and I need to get back to cleaning downstairs. Let’s see how the next few weeks will pan out.

Leave a Reply

