It’s not you, RoughDraft. It’s me…

Dear RoughDraft,

I’m sorry, but I’m leaving you.

It’s nothing to do with you. I like you. I really, really like you. You’re a wonderful program. If it wasn’t for you, I wouldn’t have been able to start all my short stories and essays. Well, I would have to use Word, that bloated behemoth who always leaves hairs in the sink, and that would’ve depressed me.

I remember when I first met you. You touted yourself as especially “designed for writers”. Remember when I downloaded you, and you opened up the possibilities of my writing career with your side panel for jotting down notes? That impressed me. Really impressed me. But it was your tabbed multiple documents that blew me away. To think that I could have several open documents that don’t clutter up my taskbar the way Word does–you really captured my heart in that. And your clipbook and file viewer, those were extra brownie points. You took my writing to a whole new level, and I deeply appreciated that.

Lately, I’ve been finding that I’ve been wanting more from you. Yes, I love that you have automatic formatting for prose and screenplays, but I want more flexibility about where I choose my tabs and indents. You wouldn’t do that. I wanted bookmarks so I can automatically go to the last paragraph I edited, but that wasn’t in your specs. And I wanted not just word counts–I wanted to see how many pages I written. But the only way to do that with you was to go to print preview.

I know leaving you will mean I will give up the notes panel and the file viewer. That really breaks my heart. But let’s face it: I’ve changed, and sadly, you haven’t. You haven’t been updated since 2005.

So, I’m going to look for a new writing program. One that’s freeware, or at least a decent price. I’ve been checking out Jarte, as of late. It looks real promising. It has some of the features you have, plus a lot of ones you don’t. Granted, they don’t have your note panel, though you can attach a note in their paid version. But they said they’re also working on it a comments feature similar to Word’s, and with that possibility, how can I not be charmed by that?

Don’t take this personally, RoughDraft. I’m not getting rid of you completely. I’m still leaving you on, in case I need to use the file viewer. It’s just that I won’t be using you exclusively for writing anymore. Maybe one day, when you do decide to update your features, you and I can have a working relationship again.

Until then, we’ll always have “prose mode”.

Love,

LaShawn

Leave a Reply

