Blogish Musings on a Rainy Day

As my life continue its shake-up towards new possibilities and destinations, I’ve been pondering more about the role this blog plays. Don’t worry, I’m not shutting it down. Don’t you even start thinking that’s where I’m going with this.

I do want this blog to be more, though, than just a place where I ramble on about my works, my kid, post a link or two and that’s it. I’ve been thinking about expanding the menu, if you will, on what the Cafe has to offer.

One thing I would like to do is start doing a favorite website/blog of the week. There’s a lot of good information contained at some of these sites that I want to share, but unless you’re familiar with them already, you’re not going to click on them. So starting tomorrow, I’ll do a short feature on a website that I like. Some are writing sites, some are parenting sites, some offer podcasts, and some are just fun to visit.

I’ve also been toying with the idea of doing short story reviews as well as book reviews. From what I’ve seen of the traffic that comes to the Cafe, a lot of people love the book reviews. Is there a way to get some of them excited about short stories as well? It’s hard to say, especially in this time where television appears to be the new short story medium. But I think it would be nice to include short stories in my reviews. Give some exposure to some deserving short story writers–and warn people away from badly written ones.

I also want to start linking more to writing advice and publishing news. It’s a good way to get the word out to my fellow writers out there. And it will force me to keep up with the times, too. Doesn’t hurt to be knowledgeable about such things, eh?

Hmm…I guess I need to set a schedule for myself. I’ll have a better idea of what I want to do (and what I’ll be able to do) by next week. There is, after all, a motive for this madness.

So stay tuned! Some good changes are in store!

One Response

  1. I say the more reviews, the better. We need more critical thinking in the blogosphere and if you have a cogent, reasonable analysis of a book (or movie or, yes, short story), I say go for it. Don’t be wishy-washy but don’t be dismissive either. A lot of work goes into writing a book, even a bad one. Judging from what I’ve seen on your blog so far, you’ve got nothing to worry about. Have fun with it…

Leave a Reply

