More links for your enjoyment (or I’m actually doing some writing for once so I’ll just cut and paste here…)

Too much to do lately, but I can say without a doubt, that this revision of “She’s All Light” will be the absolute, positive last revision. Doggone it.

In the meantime, enjoy these links:

A couple of good stories I’ve come across and decided to pass on: The King of Elfland’s Daughter by Barbara Gordon can be found at the Spring 2007 volume of Coyote Wild. I don’t remember how I came across it, but it has a feisty little black girl as one of the main characters, so I quite enjoyed it. The cool thing about online mags is that their content can stick around forever, so if you like a story, you can easily go into their back catalog to read their other stories.

Podcastle has been doing animal fable shorts from Peter S. Beagle. These bite-sized stories are fun to listen to. My particular favorite: The Fable of the Ostrich. It was a very nice African folktale-flavored read after Anansi Boys. For some more culture goodness, this time Japanese-flavored, check out the story that comes after: The Tanuki-Kettle. A very sweet tale indeed.

And speaking of podcasts, Adventures in SciFi Publishing has a good interview with Elizabeth Bear. Just from the sound of her laughter along, I would love to just hang out with her. The email they read after the interview is good, too. Just don’t pay attention to the person who wrote it, though.

Short story writer Benjamin Rosenbaum is holding a derivative works contest based of his new book The Ant King and Other Stories. You can download the entire book for free at his website, or you can buy it from Amazon. It’s an interesting way of promoting a book, especially one that’s for free. I’m actually thinking about sending something, but I have to read the book first. Either way, it sounds intriguing.

And finally, something non-writing related. I listen to Eric and Kathy on the Mix in the mornings (praise the Lord for web radio), and the friend of Eric’s daughter was elected President of her second grade class. She recorded a message to the President Elect Barack Obama, and it is very thought-provoking. I highly suggest listening to it (and hey, it’s cute!).

Alright, enough from me. I need to get back to writing!

3 Responses

  1. Hi, Lashawn. I just wanted to say thank you for supporting the podcast. I’ve seen you link us several times, and we really appreciate it. Best with your writing!

  2. Hi there, LaShawn. Remember me? Hope you are doing well in your new home.

    Glad to see that you are still writing and editing. Proud of you.

    Have a wonderful Thanksgiving. I’m going to try to link up with you at Facebook.

  3. Dont you just love Sci Fi stories? I know I do XD an Ant King test eh? sounds like it could be
    “thought Provoking” lol JK

Leave a Reply

