Finally! A story out the door! Now I can get on with my life! (or at least ‘Willow’…)

Welcome back. Did you have a good Thanksgiving? Eat too much turkey? Ended up snoring in front of a televised…er…digitized football game?

Me? I just got back from visiting family. Seems there’s a little side effect in moving to Madison called “travel”. As in, we get to “travel” to visit family now. We “travel” two hours here, spend a night, then “travel” an hour there…

Actually, it’s really not that much different from when we lived in Chicago. We just get to listen to the mp3 player just a little bit longer, that’s all.

But I’m not here to talk about my Thanksgiving, which was pretty nice thank you. No, I’m here to say that I’M FINALLY FREAKING DONE WITH “SHE’S ALL LIGHT” AND IT’S OUT THE DOOOOOOOR!!!! WHOOOOOOOO!!!

I don’t usually make special posts for short stories, especially ones that I just sent out. But She’s All Light is a special case; this is a story that I spent an entire year on. Yeah, that’s right. A year. A whole year of my life tied up in this one story.

Most of the stories I’ve written would take about a month, maybe six months max, before I ship them out. But not this one. Oh no. I started working on this right around the time my hubby and I agonized over moving to Madison. It sustained me as we worried how we would sell our house, how we would pay our bills, right up to how I wondered how Daniel would fare no longer having a stay-at-home mom. All those nights spent alone when my hubby commuted to Madison, to me worrying my brains out, hoping he hadn’t crashed or fallen asleep at the wheel, all those days staring at all the rooms that needed to be painted, at the ripped out floors. Throughout house sale negotiations. Yuck.

It’s a miracle that I was able to get She’s All Light done. But “get ‘R done” I did. And right before we left for Thanksgiving travel to. That was a nice added bonus.

And if you’re dying to know what exactly the story is about–well, er, I can’t rightly tell you. At least not before giving it a chance to get published first. Of course, now that it’s finished and all, I’m feeling the writer’s remorse boiling up already. Darn! I should have put that line in that I took out! I probably forgot to spellcheck it one final time. Aw man, I just put all that work into it and it’s crap crap crap. I never should’ve mailed it off. Should’ve just dumped it in a drawer and let it rot. It’s crap, all my writing is crap, I’m such a crappy writer…

You ever notice that the Writer’s Remorse don’t know how to write well? After a while, it just starts repeating itself…

Well, now that She’s All Light is gone, that’s pretty much left a vacuum. Suddenly my afternoons are free again. Wow. What to do with all this free time. Hmmmm….

Oh, I know! Maybe, just maybe, I should work on…oh, I don’t know….Weeping of the Willows?!

Excuse the sarcasm in that last sentence. That’s the buried author in me poking. Seems she’s been muffled for far too long, though I haven’t been neglecting her that much. Actually, I’m halfway through my readthrough of the first draft of Willow, so I’m eager to bump up the schedule and try to get through the reading more quickly now that I don’t have endless revisions sitting in front of me. At the same time, however, I’m thinking my mind is in deep need of play. It’s been focusing too much on revisions for far too long. My mind needs to go out and play on the jungle gym a bit, do some swinging, run and play tag with some others. My mind needs some Happy Funtime Freewrites.

So, seeing that this is December and I probably won’t have much time to devote to serious work, I’m going to let my mind relax a bit. I still plan to put the bulk of my focus on finishing my readthrough of Willow, but I’ll also devote some time to let my creativity spill onto the keys and see what sticks. And, if you guys are lucky, maybe I’ll even offer some goodies at the Cafe.

It’s the least I can do for my customers who’ve stuck around for so long.

Leave a Reply

