LaShawn’s Wiscon 34 Schedule

Yay! Wiscon is only a week away! I am getting so excited for it. It’s cool to see the blogosphere light up for all those who are attending. I am looking forward to being part of it.

Since I am on a couple of panels, I thought I’d list them so if anyone wanted to come by and say hi, they can. Unfortunately, I learned about readings too late to sign up for them, so sadly I won’t be doing any short story readings  (unless, of course, you’d stick around after Wiscon. The place I work at, Intervarsity Christian Fellowship, is holding a Performance Arts Cafe on June 3 at 4:30pm, and I signed up to read something there. Still trying to figure out what I’d read, though.) However, I am going to be on three panels, and they all look good.

Why are All The Black Kids Sitting Together in the Cafeteria? Sat, 4:00–5:15 pm, Room 634
LaShawn M. Wanak (Moderator), Isabel Schechter, Luke T. McGuff, Saira

Let’s have a round–table discussion of this book by Beverly Daniel Tatum, Ph.D. First published in 1997, with additional material in 1999 and 2003, it still has a lot to say about racial identification and development of same. How does it speak to the discussions happening in WisCon and online, particularly about safer spaces and how to organize them?

How the heck did I wind up as moderator for this? I…have no clue. I think I put it down, but if I did, WHAT WAS I THINKING?!?! I’VE NEVER BEEN TO A WISCON PANEL BEFORE!!!!

You know what, though? Bring it. I can do it. I had a blast doing the panels at Oddcon,  so I think I can handle Wiscon. Granted, this is a much more serious topic than the panels I’ve been on…in fact, reading the book has dredged up some interesting emotions that I’m still trying to parse. But I can’t think of any other panel I’d rather be on where I get to hear all sorts of diverse opinions.

Besides, on Friday, there’s a panel on how to be a good moderator. So I think I know what the very first panel at Wiscon will be. I expect to come out of that panel knowing how to moderate well. I EXPECT IT!!! ::shakes fist at Pat Rothfuss::

Internet Publishing: The Graduate Seminar Sat, 10:30–11:45 pm, Conference 3
Nancy Jane Moore (Moderator), LaShawn M. Wanak, Jordan Castillo Price

I’m considering this panel as a follow up to the one I did at Oddcon last month. I’ll be downing lots of coffee for this one…it’s taking place past my bedtime.

Pshaw! Psst! Aaaargh!!! Mon, 10:00 AM – 11:15, Conference 4
David D. Levine (Moderator) Deb Taber, Phoebe Wray, LaShawn M. Wanak, Amy Thomson

I signed to be on this one because it just "sounds" interesting. Get it? Sounds? Heh, heh, heh. Plus, I get to meet David Levine, who also has a story on Daybreak Magazine called horrorhouse, so I’m looking forward to talking with him about that.

I also will spend Friday morning at the Writer’s Workshop. Our moderator this time will be Ellen Klages, which is awesome because last year, she invited me out for a beer to talk about writing. Nice to see I get to do the same thing in a formal setting.

My whole Sunday’s free, so chances are, I’ll be wandering around in a daze. Feel free to pull me aside to chat.

And for all those planning to attend Wiscon, I’LL SEE YOU NEXT WEEK! WHOOOOOOO!!!

3 Responses

  1. I am so excited for you. Wow! Did you ever think you’d be doing something like this?

    It just goes to show you–God has plans beyond our imagination!

  2. I do feel God put me at the right place at the right time. I think my mind will get officially blown if I ever make it to World Fantasy. That’s when I’ll start gibbering.

  3. LaShawn, how was it?

Leave a Reply

