Goodreads Book Review: Frankenstein by Mary Shelley

FrankensteinFrankenstein by Mary Shelley
My rating: 2 of 5 stars

I was surprised that none of the “Frankenstein” mythology was really present. Frankenstein doesn’t create the monster in a laboratory by lightening. It’s more implied. In fact, I would venture to say Frankenstein was a dick. He creates this monster but doesn’t take responsibility for his actions–even after the monster endeavors to learn life on his own.

The most heinous thing Frankenstein did though was keep silent while Justine was sentenced to death for killing his brother. He was more concerned about his status than her life. I lost what little remaining respect for him. The monster had more respectability than him.

Interesting that it was a story within a story within a story. The best story was the one about the British family who helped the Arabian woman and the son and her became lovers. I wanted to see the ending to that! Of course, the monster ruined it by revealing himself. Bummer.

So, mostly this story was about Frankenstein creating a monster and then whining about for the rest of the story. Meh. Good thing it was a quick read.

View all my reviews

2 Responses

  1. Yes! Yes! Yes!

    I had read and loved Dracula and was in the middle of a classics phase when I got to Frankenstein. I was so excited and then I read it. Whining is exactly it, for pages and for pages! I’m deeply and forever grateful that Shelly helped kick of genre, but good lord this book drove me nuts. :p

  2. I haven’t read Dracula yet. Thinking about adding it to the list. I do find it very interesting that despite the lackluster book, the myth of Frankenstein (meaning the monster) developed over time to the green-skinned, moaning bolt-neck we know today. Wonder how that happened?

Leave a Reply

