LaShawn’s 2013 Year in Review

Looking back on 2013, it feels like I didn’t have much to say.

That doesn’t mean I wasn’t busy. I’ve been chugging along on Willow and, for the first time, I’ve had alpha readers chime in on how things fit together. Sometimes it felt like one step forward, two steps back, and there have been other times when I wonder if it’s all worth it, but the story is getting more and more streamlined. As of this writing, I’m 60% done.

I think this whole year, writing-wise, was learning how to write more productively and more quickly. I’m also learning the hard way to get the words on the page and not worry about making them perfect. Spending less time being stuck on things and more on using placeholders to get an idea of what I want, then coming back to it at another time.

Publishing-wise, I only had two items published in 2013, my flash story “Ebb and Flow” at Daily Science Fiction and my short story, "There Are No Wrong Answers" in the anthology What Fates Impose. The former I’ve been shopping around for a couple of years, the latter I wrote in a month and was immediately accepted. I had fun with both. 2014 will have more publishing news from me, the most notable being my short story, "21 Steps to Enlightenment (Minus 1)" appearing in Strange Horizons on February 3. Strange Horizons, y’all!!!! It’s going to be awesome. Another short story, "Sun-Touched" will appear in Kaleidotrope sometime next year. This would be my second time published in this magazine, but online this time. There will also be some new poetry from me showing up next year. Details will be forthcoming.

The biggest news I had this year, though, was becoming Associate Editor at Podcastle. I’ve been listening to Podcastle ever since they debuted in April 2008, but I never thought that one day I’d be slushing stories and narrating for them. And thanks to all the generous donations from the Metacast they did in October, looks like we’ll be continuing into 2014. We could still use your support, though, so definitely contribute what you can.

What does 2014 hold? I don’t know. What I do know is I want to communicate more. Well, yeah, yeah, there’s this whole writing thing. But it’s not about that. I want to get in touch with people more. Talk to them more. Have conversations more. Heck, I want to write on this blog more. Make myself a little more vulnerable.

As I’m writing this, Neil Gaiman’s latest blog post popped up on my newsfeed about him taking a social media hiatus and doing more writing and blogging. I’m pondering that. It feels that I’ve grown too dependent on social media. I pass along links and memes I like, but I don’t do much speaking.

It feels like I don’t have much to say.

I think I’ll use 2014 to find my words again.

Leave a Reply

